top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatasha Liun

To Taco or not to Taco- San Diego, CA

It is a new month. With shelter in place, I miss the beach. For now, virtual visits to the beach will do. If your nearby beach of choice is still open. you may be able to take a stroll there but please utilize safe practices. I went to San Diego last October and had some tacos. If you're on a diet, just eat fewer tacos. My dad and I tried out a couple variations of tacos at a beachfest on Pacific Beach in October 2019. Tickets for the fish taco contest were $10 each and you would get 5 tacos. We got a ticket and shared the tacos. With the ticket, we tried some yummy fish tacos from the participants: PB Fish Shop, Sandbar Sports grill, the Duck Dive, the Local PB and PB Shore Club. Please check their websites before making orders since they may currently shut down their operations due to the virus. Sadly, most of them are now temporarily closed. In the meantime, takeout safely and tip well.


On a brighter note, the tacos foodie experience was marvelous because variety is bliss! Hopefully there will be a beachfest there in 2020. You will have to get on really long lines to get your tacos but there is good news if you have one ticket to share with another person. I held my ticket and waited in one line while my dad waited in another. After getting my taco, I passed my dad the ticket, and we did that until we received all our tacos. While we waited, we took some pictures while listening to live music. Getting the taco ticket is a good way to sample the tacos and decide on where to dine in (when the restaurants reopen). I went to the beachfest on the last day of my trip so I didn't have the chance to dine in any of the places.



5 tacos for $10 was a good deal! This taco was from the PB Fish Shop. The taco sauce was very refreshing and the fish was crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside. If you're on a diet, don't worry. This taco does not weigh you down because the portion is perfect.


Have you discovered any delicious taco while traveling? Feel free to share your taco recipe if you have one.


Connect with me on Instagram!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join my mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page