top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatasha Liun

Chinatown (Manhattan), NY Perfect Taste

Before heading out to get my haircut at a little salon in Manhattan's Chinatown, my family went for breakfast at a Malaysian coffee place/restaurant, Perfect Taste. The location is good, on Canal St., close to the A and F subway lines. Don't get it mixed up with another place also called Perfect Taste in East Harlem. This is what the restaurant I went to looks like from the outside:



I don't actually know which part of the menu has healthy eats but I ordered the Malaysia Ipoh coffee ($4). Don't quite remember whether I had the white or black coffee. I just knew the coffee was not too sweet and was really delightful. This coffee is a hot item on their menu. I wanted to also get the Singaporean Hainan chicken but the wait time for that would be about 45 minutes, way too long. So, I got the toast with butter and kaya ($4.98/plate). Kaya is a spread made with coconut milk, eggs and sugar cane as its main ingredients. This spread is popular in Southeast Asia for breakfast, lunch or tea time. This place is really small so I was glad my party of five got seats. We took up almost all the seating area but the interior space is clean.



As my father chatted with the owner of the place, I found out that the lady in the kitchen came from Ipoh. I would guess this makes the food more authentic. A tip is that this place takes credit card, regardless of the total amount on your bill.


Have you found any other good but small foodie finds in Manhattan?

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join my mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page